Poetry Book Giveaway to Celebrate National Poetry Month.

Thanks to my dear friend Laura, I recently discovered that there is a Poetry Giveaway, now in its third consecutive year. It began by Kelli Russell Agodon in honor of National Poetry Month. Her goal – to spread the poetry we love to others around the world. For more information, check out the FAQ’s.

I may be new to this, but I’m really excited about it. Just a bit about me – I’m a writer living in Lawrence, KS, with my dog, Rufio, and my husband, Dustin.

My first poetry collection, Mythology of Touch, just came out this March by Woodley Press. In 2012, I have two chapbooks coming out – Blink Finch by Kattywompus Press and Aching Buttons by Dancing Girl Press.

This is my personal blog, where I really just enjoy writing about writing, but I also do reviews on chapbooks and sometimes literary journals or longer poetry collections. My main interest right now is to review chapbooks written by women. The VIDA Count really helped me make this a priority. I’m new at it, but it’s a lot of fun.

Soon, I will defend my MFA thesis and graduate and I have no idea where I will be living in the next few months – to be honest, I don’t really care, though, as long as I have my writing and some kind of inspiration. And I don’t really find inspiration to be difficult to locate. I also love really good beer, some sushi, walking as slowly as possible (I’m just taking it all in!).

Since January 1, 2012, I’ve been writing a poem a day. It’s been really rough this March, but I’m still on top of it, still writing something, even if it’s horrible, every day. It’s baffling to think that I have over 100 poems or so that are all brand new. I’ve never had to work with this much writing before and I love it. It is relaxing, meditative and I get to write through those obsessions faster and with a bit more purpose, it seems like. I can feel a book shaping in small pieces. It’s a lovely experience. I urge all of you to try it – a poem a day really DOES keep the pressure away!

Giving away poetry feels like a perfect way to take part in National Poetry Month!

THE GIVEAWAY

1) The first giveaway will be my debut collection, Mythology of Touch. To read some sample poems, check out the rest of my blog posts and my links for publications. This is a book of healing. It’s pretty depressing, violent, angry, yet extremely sensual at the same time. It’s about how to move within those spaces we create in relationships. One lucky winner will receive a copy from me.Ready to ship.

2) The second full-length collection I will give away is Pretend the World by Kathryn Kysar. For an example poem from the book, go HERE, or check out her website. This is a luscious book with narrative poems about motherhood, sexuality, and it is very much rooted in the Midwest. As a Midwestern poet, I felt the need to include another Midwestern poet in the giveaway.Ready to ship.

3). We are only required to give away two books, but I’d also like to include a literary journal as a giveaway. This will be the most recent issue of Flint Hills Review, a literary journal based out of Kansas and edited by my friend and amazing writer, C. Malcolm Ellsworth, Maryfrances Wagner, Joseph, Harrington, Melissa Sewell, Ed Tato, and others.Ready to ship.

4). I would also like to include in this giveaway the most recent issue of Stone Highway Review. My good friend and writer Amanda Hash is a co-editor of this journal. The pieces are emotionally provocative, and driven by imagery and language. The most recent issue includes writers: Brett Elizabeth Jenkins, Liz Minette, Kara Dorris, Rosebud Ben-Oni, Kathleen Tyler, and others. Ready to ship.

RULES:

There will be four winners for this giveaway. Each entrant will receive a number based on the order of their comment. During the first week of May, I will randomly choose the winners using a random number generator.

The drawing will be open for ALL OF APRIL – National Poetry Month!

To Enter: Please leave your NAME and EMAIL ADDRESS in the comments section by Midnight (Central Time), April 30th, 2012.  Easy, easy easy!

I’m very excited to share these with you!

53 thoughts on “Poetry Book Giveaway to Celebrate National Poetry Month.

  1. yes please! I’m Laura Davis. I’m so stoked you’re doing this too! weeee!

    lauraelizabethdavis at gmail dot com

  2. not sure if my comment posted or not…

    yay! I’m glad you are doing this! I’m laura davis.

    email: lauraelizabethdavis at gmail dot com

  3. Very good idea! I was going to start leaving poetry books on benches and shelves around campus for others to find during NPM. We need to spread more beautiful language out into the world. I’ve also given my students extra credit if they go to Poets.org, find a poem they like, and film themselves reading it to a stranger. The person could be another student who isn’t a friend, a teacher they’ve never had, a barista in a coffee shop, a salesperson at a department store… I told them to stay away from shady looking men standing in alleys : ) We all do our part for poetry, as it should be.

  4. Great idea! I’ve given my students an extra credit opportunity for NPM. They have to go to Poets.org, choose a poem they like, print it out, and read it to a stranger while a friend films them. I told them to choose another student they don’t know, a teacher they haven’t taken, a barista in a coffee shop, or a salesperson in a store. I have also suggested they NOT read their poem to shady looking men standing in alley mouths.

  5. and Laura, i see that you review chapbooks by women–if you’d like to review mine (where nothing can grow by batcat press, released last year)–i’ll send you a free copy, just let me know~!

  6. Pingback: National Poetry Month – Poem of the Day | Hang Windows from the Sky with Yarn

  7. It’s great to meet you…Happy National Poetry Month!!!! Thank you for the giveaway – I’d love to read your work. Sincerely, Theresa (theresamacnaughtonatgmail,com)

  8. Pleasure to discover your site here, and would be interested in entering for any of the four. I’m doing one of my own as well, if you want to drop your name in. :)

    Joseph Harker
    linksfreude [at] gmail

  9. Mary: Please sign me in for a chance of winning one of your books or literary journals through this year’s Big Poetry Giveaway. If I’m lucky enough to win your book or Ms. Kysar’s, I will promise you I’ll read and review it for my popular, monthly online newsletter, which is read by many of this state’s serious poets.

    Thank you!

    Ronald Lewis
    vtpoet@gmail.com
    Vermont Poetry Newsletter
    & Poetry Event Calendar

  10. What a funny, small world this is. I already have a copy of Kate Kysar’s book, but I’m so glad you’re promoting it! We’re both Minnesotans. :) And I’m familiar with the lit mags, or at least recognize Brett’s name–she and I did a reading at a sake bar together, of all places. I’d love to be entered to win a copy of your work; congrats also on the chapbooks–I especially admire Dancing Girl Press.

    A link to my own giveaway: http://www.mapsandpoetry.blogspot.com/2012/04/big-poetry-giveaway.html

  11. I don’t know which I love more…the name of your dancing girl press collection (aching buttons, indeed), or the name of your dog…had such a crush on Rufio when I was a girl! I think it was the feathers in his hair.

    Consider me entered!

    • Thanks, Katie! Yea – Rufio is a perfect name for a lost boy! Haha. Be sure to comment with your email address in case you win a book, so I can contact you!

Leave a Reply

